European Federation of Journalists

EU Copyright Directive: authors’ group calls for more transparency

The Authors’ Group is Europe’s leading Authors’ network representing more than 500,000 authors, including writers, literary translators, composers, songwriters, journalists, photographers, film/TV directors and screenwriters in Europe. The Authors’ Group consists of the following associations:

  • European Composer and Songwriter Alliance (ECSA),
  • European Federation of Journalists (EFJ),
  • European Writers’ Council (EWC),
  • Federation of European Film and TV Directors (FERA),
  • and Federation of Screenwriters in Europe (FSE)

Together with the EU Cultural and Creative Industries at large, the Authors’ Group strongly supports the successful adoption of the Copyright Directive. Along with over 130 professional organisations representing authors from the book, music, press and audio-visual sectors, we believe it represents a once in a decade opportunity to improve the situation of authors, thereby strengthening the European creative community and cultural wealth in the digital era.

The Authors’ Group calls for the adoption of a strong chapter 3 (articles -14a to 16a). The effectiveness of its approach stems from the interdependence of each article within this chapter, informally called the transparency triangle. It will only provide authors with a useful tool to reshape their bargaining position if none of the three original articles are weakened.

We stand ready to negotiate with our contractual counterparts a balanced and constructive implementation of those provisions.

The Authors’ Group aims at striking the best compromise for European authors within the existing reports as adopted by the European Commission, European Parliament and the Council of the European Union. The annexed working paper provides concrete suggestions to this end:

Authors’ Group trilogue position

Picture credit: EFJ.