European Federation of Journalists

EFJ and media freedom organisations call for release of US journalist Evan Gershkovich

Credits: AFP.

The European Federation of Journalists (EFJ) joined more than 30 global press freedom groups and news organizations in a letter to Anatoly Antonov, the Russian ambassador to the United States, calling for Evan Gershkovich’s immediate release.

Ambassador Anatoly I. Antonov
Embassy of the Russian Federation to the United States
2650 Wisconsin Ave., N.W.
Washington, DC 20007

Via email:

March 30, 2023

Dear Ambassador Antonov,

We, the undersigned news organizations and nongovernmental press freedom organizations, write to express our deep concern regarding your government’s detention of journalist Evan Gershkovich and the unfounded espionage charges leveled against him.

Gershkovich, who works for The Wall Street Journal and is a United States citizen, has a long professional record as a journalist. He lived in Moscow for several years, is accredited with the Russian Foreign Ministry, and has been covering Russia as part of the Journal’s Moscow bureau. Gershkovich is a journalist, not a spy, and should be released immediately and without conditions.

As an urgent first step, Gershkovich should be granted immediate access to an attorney provided by his employer. We also demand confirmation of his well-being and that he be allowed communication with his family.

Gershkovich’s unwarranted and unjust arrest is a significant escalation in your government’s anti-press actions. Russia is sending the message that journalism within your borders is criminalized and that foreign correspondents seeking to report from Russia do not enjoy the benefits of the rule of law.

We look forward to your response as we continue to vigilantly follow every step of the proceedings against Evan Gershkovich and call for his immediate release.


  • Peter Barabas, Editorial Director, Euronews
  • Sally Buzbee, Executive Editor, The Washington Post
  • Fernando Belzunce, Editor-in-Chief, Vocento, Spain
  • Giuseppe De Bellis, Executive Editor, SkyTg24
  • Phil Chetwynd, Global News Director, Agence France-Presse (AFP)
  • Liz Corbin, Deputy Media Director and Head of News, European Broadcasting Union
  • Chris Evans, Editor, The Telegraph
  • Edward Felsenthal, Executive Chairman, TIME
  • Tony Gallagher, Editor, The Times
  • Javier Garza Ramos. Editor, Enre2 Laguna, México
  • Liesl Gerntholtz, Director, Freedom To Write Center, PEN America
  • Jodie Ginsberg, President, Committee to Protect Journalists
  • Ricardo Gutiérrez, General Secretary, European Federation of Journalists
  • Irene Halvorsen, Editor in Chief, Nationen, Norway
  • Joe Kahn, Executive Editor, The New York Times
  • Roula Khalaf, Editor, Financial Times
  • Aleksandra Ketlerienė, Deputy editor-in-chief of, Lithuanian national radio and television
  • Ian MacGregor, Editor Emeritus, The Telegraph, Society of Editors chair
  • Susan Marjetti, General Manager, CBC News
  • Frane Maroevic, Executive Director, International Press Institute
  • Quinn McKew, Executive Director, ARTICLE 19
  • Zanny Minton Beddoes, Editor, The Economist
  • Rialda Ocuz, Program Coordinator International Affairs, BHRT
  • Julie Pace, Executive Editor, The Associated Press
  • Vincent Peyrègne, CEO WAN-IFRA, World Association of News Publishers
  • Martha C. Ramos Sosa, Editor in Chief, Organización Editorial Mexicana
  • Marcelo Rech, president of the Brazilian Newspaper Association (ANJ)
  • David Remnick, Editor, The New Yorker
  • David Rhodes, Executive Chairman, Sky News Group
  • Pamella Sittoni, Executive Editor, Nation Media Group, Kenya
  • Ben Taylor, Editor, The Sunday Times
  • Emma Tucker, Editor in Chief, The Wall Street Journal
  • Deborah Turness, BBC News’ CEO of News and Current Affairs
  • Giselle van Cann, Editor-in-Chief NOS Nieuws, The Netherlands
  • Katharine Viner, Editor-in-Chief, Guardian News & Media
  • David Walmsley, Editor-in-Chief, The Globe and Mail
  • Matthew Winkler, Editor-in-Chief Emeritus, Bloomberg News
  • Werner Zitzmann, Executive Director, Colombian News Media Association