European Federation of Journalists

Labour Rights Expert Group meeting

Special guest: Ludovic Voet, ETUC Confederal Secretary responsible for sustainable development and climate change, migration, youth policy, non-standard work and the platform economy, education and training, and equality and non-discrimination, plus organising.  

The EFJ will join the global climate strike this Friday

The European Federation of Journalists (EFJ) will join the global climate strike this Friday in Brussels to put pressure on world leaders to deliver urgent solutions to the worsening climate crisis. Demonstrations will take place around the world between September 20 and 27 to coincide with the United Nation’s climate summit in New York, where heads of governments must take concrete action to deliver on the promises of the Paris Agreement. That includes the commitment to a “just transition” – moving to a carbon neutral economy in a way that’s fair to people working in industries that will be required to…

14th Congress of the European Trade Union Confederation

The EFJ GS will attend the 14th Congress of the European Trade Union Confederation (ETUC), in Vienna. The ETUC Congress will take place from Tuesday 21 to Friday 24 May 2019 at Wien Messe in Vienna, Austria. Taking part are over 600 national trade union delegates including the General Secretaries and/or Presidents of some 90 national trade union organisations from 38 European countries, 10 European sectoral trade union federations and special guests from Europe and beyond, including Antonio Costa, Prime Minister of Portugal, Alexander Van der Bellen, President of Austria, Jean-Claude Juncker, President of the European Commission, Enrico Letta, Dean…

ETUC Executive Committee Meeting

The next ETUC Executive Committee meeting, which will be held on Tuesday 26 — Wednesday 27 Mars 2019 at the: ITUH Building, Bld du Roi Albert II, 5 – 1210 Brussels. The EFJ will be represented by Ricardo Gutiérrez and/or Mehmet Koksal.

Trade unions support Action for Climate

Seven European trade unions, including the European Federation of Journalists (EFJ), are supporting the global day of protest being staged by young people against climate change on Friday: ETUC, EFJ, EFBWW, EPSU, EFFAT, ETF and IndustriAll (representing workers in energy intensive industries). Greta Thunberg, the 16-year-old Swedish school student who started the ‘Friday’s for Future’ movement, has called for her peers around the world to join her to demonstrate outside national parliaments or local government buildings. Some 727 protests are scheduled across Europe, including another major demonstration in Brussels which will begin outside International Trade Union House. A banner reading ‘No…

Load more